Cartoons

Nickelodeon Working on a Nintendo Cartoon? Castlevania Hopes and Speculations

Last week some news dropped about Frederator Studios – the studio behind Adventure Time, working on and releasing a new video game themed cartoon after Adventure Time goes off the air.  There’s been a lot of speculation as to what IP is going to be cartoonified, but the one that I find most plausible is a Castlevania cartoon.  Other theories I’ve seen have thrown out Mario, Legend of Zelda, and a Sonic show, but since Sonic Boom is already a fairly popular cartoon, and I don’t think Mario and Zelda would be getting another cartoon adaptation after the ones in the 90s, I’m leaning towards believing the article linked above.

 

Now, with an announcement like this, every fan comes out of the wood works.  “Frederator animates Adventure time in a way that would make Castlevania look crappy!” “Nooooo WHYYYY please don’t have it like how Simon was in Captain N” “I just am going to complain before it’s even confirmed because it’s trendy to do so!”.  Ok so that last one was just me being salty, but you get my point.
With this news, I thought it would be fun to speculate what type of cartoon I’d want from a  Castlevania series, so here we go!

 

A Darker Tone

 

The only animated version of any Belmont we got, was Simon in Captain N.  That…wasn’t a good version and put the awesomeness that is the Belmont clan to shame.  I think for a good Castlevania series to work, the creators have to not be afraid to go there with its darker themes.  I have high hopes that Nick wouldn’t stray away from doing this, since the new Ninja Turtles cartoon that airs on Nicktoons gets pretty dark at times.  I mean, the entire Castlevania series circles around a vampire hunting family, so if they don’t go there it’d be super lame.

 

I’d like the darker tone to permeate not only the plot, but the atmosphere and characters as well.  Castlevania has some awesome set pieces (Castlevania IV’s first stage comes to mind, as  well as like, all of Symphony of the Night) and using some really dark, vivid colors for backgrounds, along with really atmospheric gothic music would make me very, very happy.
Awesome costumes would be a plus, too!

 

Different Character arcs

 

I picture the setup of the show like Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure, where we follow a member of the Belmont Clan for a span of episodes, then move onto another family member, etc etc.  I think where Castlevania shines is it’s over-arcing family storyline, and seeing how each Belmont reacts and takes down Dracula, so that would just be super fun to watch if they did it right.

Fleshed Out Characters!

 

This goes without saying, but I want all the main characters to be super interesting!  My favorite Belmont’s are Simon and Trevor, and if they just decided to make them cliché stoic badasses that would be cool and all but it totally defeats the purpose of making an animated series where you have the opportunity to display the motivations of every character, and have some backstory that isn’t’ just take this whip and beat up Dracula.  That being said however, some great fight scenes have to be in order, since it’s mainly an action/adventure franchise that may be getting adapted and I just want a fight scene set to this track OK.

 

Honestly, everything I’d want in this series is more geared towards an adult audience, or more like if Castlevania were going to become an anime, but I can dream, can’t I?  I will have my fingers crossed that the speculation that the new series will be a Castlevania one comes true, because I think it would be perfect to adapt to a cartoon.

 

Do you have any video game franchises you’d want to be adapted into a cartoon series?  If so, what would you want from the show.

4 thoughts on “Nickelodeon Working on a Nintendo Cartoon? Castlevania Hopes and Speculations

  1. Well, I don’t know how to feel about this. Nickelodeon can only do so much to adapt Castlevania. I haven’t seen the new stuff they did with TMNT, but I can’t imagine it gets all that mature.

    If Castlevania is taken as an adventure story rather than a horror story, which really is the case, then this would probably be just fine. I would rather see it as an anime though 😉

    Like

  2. Yeah, when I was writing this I was just like it would be far better suited to be an anime in the XD you do raise a good point. If they go the adventure route I think it’ll be fine but if they try Nickolodeon rated Y horror then it probably will have mixed results.

    Oooor maybe if we wish hard enough we’ll get a Castlevania anime eventually!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

