Uncategorized

The Sunshine Blogger Award

sunshine-award

The sunshine blogger award is an award given to bloggers who inspire and bring sunshine into the lives of their readers/fellow bloggers.  Which, after reading that description I was like DAWWW because it’s super flattering, and this is also my first blog award, so woo!  I’m a sucker for questionnaires, so this is going to be super fun to fill out!

I was nominated by Weekend Otaku to do this award!  Check out his blog for some great reviews on anime that’ll get your brain thinking~  Thanks for nominating me to do this 😀

Anyone who I would nominate I’ve seen do this already, so I’m going to leave that part alone.

[Rules]:

Thank the person who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.

Answer the 11 questions sent by the person who nominated you.

Nominate 11 new blogs to receive the award and write then 11 new questions.

List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo in your post and/or on your blog.

  1. What is your preferred hobby outside of anime/manga/tv and blogging?

I love to sing and write.  Not blog writing, but like short stories and fanfics and stuff.  I also like to produce radio dramas, and do amateur voice acting!  Though I do a lot more singing than I do voice acting on the web nowadays, but the first thing I did when I was fresh and new on the internet was hunt down amateur voice acting forums and made all of my friends there, and that was like ten years ago.  A decent amount of people from the forum I used to frequent are professional voice actors now, it’s super weird haha.  But TL;DR:  Singing and fiction writing~

I also love crafting, specifically making jewelry and baking/cooking (does that count as crafting?).  So basically, I like anything that you can be remotely creative with lol.

  1. Are there any blogging lessons you wish you knew before you started?

If you want to start a blog, just start a blog.  I wanted to start this one way before I started my other blog, but I got so hyper critical of what I would write and if anyone would read my posts and stuff like that.  OF course, have a general outline for what you want your blog to be, but if you’re really passionate about starting a blog, just start and iron out all of the kinks later.  Also just post a post, even if you think it’s not perfect!  The worst thing you can do to yourself, and your creative flow is over think.

  1. What got you into anime/manga in the first place?

Ok so, long story time!  The first anime I watched was Sailor Moon, but I didn’t know that show was an anime when I first started watching it.  When I was a kid, and still had enough vision to play video games visually, I would download a ton of Super Nintendo Roms (Don’t judge, I was like 12 and pirating wasn’t really known as a thing back then!).  One of the games I downloaded was a translated Magic Knight Rayearth RPG based on the manga, and I fell in love with it!  So I started looking up stuff about it, and found out it was an anime.  I told my Mom, and she hunted down the VHS tapes at our local Suncoast and we watched it together and my age is showing after mentioning Suncoast XDD

But yeah, watching MKR not only got me into anime full force, but made me want to get into voice acting after realizing that was a thing you could do!  And after that, My family would always go to Suncoast/Blockbuster and rent or buy any anime we could find.  My entire family was really into anime in the early 2000s, so watching things together will always be a really fond memory I have.  Plus, anytime I mention my Mom knows anime things, like what Gundam is I always get “Wow, your Mom is so cool!” which she is but I always like hearing it nevertheless lolol.  And that’s the rest of the storyyyyy~

  1. Is there any anime you feel you got into too late? Or that you wish you had seen at a younger age?

I went through a long phase of not watching any anime at all for about five to six years, so I guess that entire era of my life?  When I think about it though, probably Welcome to the NHK.  That one really helped me cope with a lot of issues I had and made me feel a bit more normal about having them.

  1. Name the anime/manga character you are most attached to

Aino Minako/Sailor Venus.  That girl is so fierce and hides it under a guise of ditzy bubbly blondness.  Pretty much my M.O. for life, so I adore her.

  1. You can stop the evil plot of one anime/manga villain. Who would you stop?

Uuuugh this one is so hard!  I want to cop out and just say a Sailor Moon villain, but when I think more closely, Ragyō Kiryūin from Kill La Kill.  Our clothing will not rule us, rawr!

  1. Flip the scenario: You get to be the sidekick to one anime hero. Who do you help?

Sailor V.  Stand aside, Artemis!

  1. Do you have many friends where you live who love anime?

I don’t have many friends in general, but everyone I am friends with likes anime so…yes?

  1. What is the first anime you would introduce to a child?

Azumanga Daioh.  Best humorous slice of life anime ever.

  1. Do you have any pets? If so, tell us about them.

Not anymore, but I used to have a dog named Yoshi!  He passed away four years ago and I haven’t really wanted to replace him T_T

  1. What do you want to improve most about yourself?

I’m not really shy when I know someone, but I have a horrible time approaching people to talk.  I always need someone there as a buffer to start a conversation for me when it’s irl, so I’d like to be able to talk to people a lot more easily.

2 thoughts on “The Sunshine Blogger Award

  1. Crystal, you continue to prove yourself my long lost twin. I played that MKR game too and was enthralled by the anime afterward (though you might have shared this before)

    I would also stop Ragyo Kiryuin though, too. Psycho woman… And I really need to watch Welcome to the NHK sometime. I meant to get to it last year but I just let it slip.

    Thanks for doing this. It was a lot of fun to read your answers

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That MKR game is loooove. I probably played it a million times XDD I don’t think I’ve mentioned that before, not sure though. I like the long lost twin theory a lot better so we’ll say I’ve never mentioned it before XD

    Welcome to the NHK is amazing! It’s premise is really off the wall but when you get to the meat of the show it’s so gooood.

    It was fun answering all the questions XD

    Like

Leave a Reply

