TV Shows

Iron Fist Episode 3 Thoughts

This show is so frustrating because it has so many interesting ideas, but just tries to do all of them at once.  Does it want to be a court drama?  An action show?  A mystery?  Because episode 3 was all three of those things to varying success.  I like what I’ve taken to calling the Marvel Cinematic New York Universe (MCNYU) just fine, but Iron Fist is trying entirely too hard to be its own thing, while trying to fit into the MCNYU and it shows.
I liked seeing the connection of how small this Universe is by having Jerry, who has been in Jessica Jones, and Daredevil pop up.  My problem with that was how they just sort of threw a reason in for her to know Danny.  “Your Dad gave me my first job!  Let’s do dis” when Danny could have just gone to her, said, “I’m Danny Rand and I have a case for you” and that could have made sense too.  Would it have been as believable?  Probably, since we’re dealing with a universe full of super heroes.  I kid though:  really, I just wanted more of an explanation than I knew you once forever ago!  It just added to the paper thin world building Iron Fist has already had.
The entire episode, I kept on internally shouting just get a DNA test already!  So when that reveal happened at the end I was like finally!  The first piece of good writing in this show.  Also Danny trying to teach the kids how to properly fight in the dojo made me lol, because when Coleen was like “This place is a safe space for them to not be beaten up” I was just like but it’s a dojo they should be learning martial arts I 100 percent agree with Danny here.
That restaurant scene with Joy and Ward ugh…why are they being so jerky?  Like I get wanting to hold onto something you’ve worked hard for, but the lengths they are going to completely erase Danny from existence is really pissing me off.  They aren’t very likable characters you can empathize with either, so they just rub me the wrong way and I hope they get what’s coming to them.

 

A theme the show has been tackling I find interesting, is what makes family?  What makes you, you?  Joy and Ward are both jerks who are trying to hold on to something they built, but it wasn’t there’s in the first place.  Meanwhile, Danny is just trying to find his sense of self, which is tied to this company, and to them, but they keep on denying it, in a way denying part of their identity.  Is either mindset wrong?  Saying Joy and Ward are jerks is easy (and I honestly think they are being entirely too stubborn and narrow minded) but is it so wrong to want to hold on to something you’ve worked for your entire life, even if it isn’t rightfully yours?  This plot seems like it will be coming to a head soon, and I’m really curious to see where it’s going to go.  Ward’s internal crisis was 100 percent predictable, but I still really want to see where his character arc is going to go.

 

I like the layers Harold is getting also, like what crap did he get into with Madame Gao?  They tried to hide her in the shadows, but I know that voice!  I love Madame Gao in Daredevil so I’m really excited to see her face off with Danny later (I hope).  I’m also waiting for the eventual Claire Temple cameo, because I freaking love her and if we’re getting cameos from other shows she better pop up soon.

 

I’m guessing this reclaim Rand Industries plot is going to end soon, because I can’t see it carrying past episode 5 or 6. We’ll see if I’m wrong.  If I remember correctly Danny has this company in the comics, so it’s inevitable he’ll get the company back:  Just a matter of when.
The show is trying to give Coleen a plot but…her novelty is wearing off on me.  Misty was an actual layered character, who’s interactions with Luke made sense.  With Danny and Coleen, I can’t tell if it’s just because it feels like they’re trying to push a romantic relationship or what, but their chemistry doesn’t gel with me, and this new story arc they’re going to give her seems like it’ll be boring.  Or resolve quickly, we’ll see which happens first.

 

Only entertaining audio description note in this one to me was:

In the cage fighting scene when it opens, they call one of the fighters Tank Top, like it’s his given name the entire time and I was like looool.

 

So once again, an episode that was passable, but not really…interesting?  It sort of was?  I still have such mixed feelings about this show.  The best way I can describe it right now is Luke Cage light:  It feels like it’s trying to be grounded in reality, but at the same time not and without a cast of likeable characters to carry this, like Luke Cage had its falling flat.  Plus, the lack of fight scenes, and when the fight scenes do happen, they are so uninspired.  Luke Cage had way better fight scenes, and he’s not half as nimble as Danny is supposed to be!
On that note, the Iron Fist powers turning on and off like a light bulb is so strange.  What’s the deal, does he have full control of it, or not.  Does he need the power of friendship to have full control?  Maybe a strong sense of self?  Does it just activate when he’s in super perilous situations?  I need answers, stop being convoluted show!
Ugh I told myself these would be short posts, but here’s another long one XD if you’ve watched episode 3, would love to hear your thoughts!

2 thoughts on “Iron Fist Episode 3 Thoughts

  1. I’m in total agreement about Colleen. She seemed pretty cool in the beginning, but I didn’t understand her reasons for going to the cage matches at all. She needs money for the dojo? Even if she’s too prideful to ask for help Danny’s idea to teach Kung Fu would have brought in extra customers. They’re trying to give her a dark side and I’m not buying it yet.

    Danny’s struggle to prove his identity has worn thin and I’m ready for that whole thread to be over. I think he explained why a DNA test won’t work, though. He said he has no living relatives to compare it to. But like you said, it’s only a matter of time before he gets his company back, so hurry up already. I want more beat-em-up action.

    I got kind of interested in Harold after his episode. As villain-y as he might seem, he’s genuinely afraid of The Hand. If Gao came after me though, I’d be terrified too.

    Also I think that guy’s name really was Tank Top. What luck, eh?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think the writers just saw how popular Misty was and were like “But Colleen isn’t like that in the comics what are we gonna do” and threw all this dark gritty nonsense at her. She’s teetering back and forth for me with how interesting she is at this point but still I’m annoyed with how pointlessly gruff she is from the getgo.

    Harold and Ward are the only interesting characters in this show to me haha. I read up on Ward’s comic persona profile and he’s really nothing too important, so I was surprised how much more depth he’s getting than Danny.

    I guess the DNA test thing makes sense but I have a sinking suspicion Danny’s Mother is still alive with how much emphasis we’re getting on the fact she was sucked out of the plane.

    Oh, well in that case, poor Tank Top because his parents named him Tank Top XD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

