Anime

Your Lie in April Episode 1 Thoughts

Time to start this rewatch!  I’ve never rewatched an anime before that wasn’t from my childhood, so this will be interesting.  I thought it would be fun to try and think of my initial thoughts of the episode after watching it the first time, then see how I feel about it now knowing what’s coming.

 

For episode 1, I think I mainly was interested, but also skeptical.  The pointless overdone “You pervert!” trope happened and I was like ugh not this again, but the rest of the show was interesting enough for me to stay watching.  I knew going in the anime was about music, so being a musician myself I really wanted to give it a shot no matter how wonky I thought it might become at the time.

 

Upon rewatching, I like Tsubaki a teeny bit more.  I still don’t really like her, but she’s not as annoying as I remember.  Well, not annoying, but I always found her actions pretty selfish throughout the show, but now seeing the amount of foreshadowing put into the first episode in regards to her feelings, it doesn’t bother me so much.  I wish the humor tropes were gone from here, but I  also like them at the same time so no real complaints with that.  Other than that, I enjoyed the episode!  I feel like for this particular show, knowing what’s going to happen detracts a bit from the drama, but it’s still enjoyable to watch to see what things you didn’t notice happening that were going to lead to bigger reveals later on.

 

I was going to try and watch an episode a day, but that really isn’t’ my style haha.  So what I’ll probably do, is catch up with the show on the weekend, watching the next four episodes for this week one day and the next five for the next week on Sunday.  What can I say, I’m just a binge watcher at heart 😀

 

I’m glad to see this show still is enjoyable upon second watching. Music is still fantastic, and loving the journey faster than I did before because I know what will be happening.  So instead of one episode a day posts I’ll just write my general thoughts on the five episodes I watched for the week over here~

 

Leave a Reply

