Books

My TBR List for June and a Very Mini Review of Blame

I was going to write up this intense review of this anime movie I watched a few days ago, but honestly I don’t really have much to say about it.  It was called Blame, it was fantastic, if you like a character piece with a really slow burn that still is interesting, go see it.  I don’t have anything constructive to say about it, because I just loved it so much.  So, if you’re looking for a good anime movie that’s sci-fi cyberpunk, check it out!  I heard it was a really long running manga, and I hope this means we get some OVAs of it because the ending was so open ended but I want more so bad.  Such an amazing movie!

 

With that out of the way, on to my TBR list!  I’ve gotten a pile up of books that I really need to read, so much so that I’ve canceled my Audible subscription until I finish them up, because I don’t just want a ton of Audible credits piling up while I have books waiting in the wings I need to read (that may work for some people, but for me it drives me nuts and puts pressure on me to read super quickly or spend all of my credits and ayaaah the pressure!).  I’ve picked a lot up from sales, some were on my wishlist, some just books that sounded interesting so I picked them up.

 

  • Theft of Swords by Michael J Sullivan:  Picked this up on a Audible 2 for 1 sale.  The summary sounded ok enough, but when I listened to the book preview the writing and characters sold me.  The world building and characters are great, but my main issue with it is the issue  have with epic fantasy:  it moves so slowly!  I’m up to chapter 6 in this book, and am hoping I can finish it before the month is up.  I’m enjoying it so far, just wish it were a bit faster.
  • On the Edge by Illona Andrews: One I picked up on a sale a long time ago, just haven’t gotten to it yet.  Want to get to it this month!
  • Dragons of Autumn Twilight by Margret Weis and Tracey Hickman: The 2nd book I got on the 2 for 1 sale.  I’ve only read a little bit of the prologue and sounds interesting enough, but I hope it doesn’t fall into the slow epic fantasy pacing that I don’t like.
  • Caraval by Stephanie Garber: I’ve been wanting to read this one since it came out, and when I was needing to use my last credit before cancelling I looked at my wish list, saw it and went “Oh yeah, I need to read this!” so picked it up.  Can’t wait to start it!

 

That’s everything I got, I’m hoping I can get through these books in the month!  What’s on your TBR list?

Leave a Reply

